Types Of Doshas And Their Functions

There are only three types of Doshas in the body – Vata, Pitta and Kapha. But  each of them are divided into five types, based on their place and functions. This division is just for the sake of easy understanding. 

Types of Vata Dosha

Vata is of 5 types.
Prana Vata,
Udana Vata,
Vyana Vata,
Samana Vata and
Apana Vata,

Prana Vata

Prana is located in the head and moves in the chest and throat. It regulates will power, heart, sense organs, intellect and vision. It is the cause for expectoration, sneezing, belching, inspiration and swallowing of food.

Prana Vata is considered as the force that takes care of functioning of heart, lungs and throat (swallowing, belching etc).

Udana Vata

The chest is the seat of Udana, it moves in the nose, umbilicus and throat; its functions are initiation of speech, effort, enthusiasm , strength, color, complexion and memory.

Udana Vata is correlated with breath and process of respiration.

Vyana Vata

Vyana is located in the heart, moves all over the body in great speed. It attends to functions such as flexion and extension (locomotor action) opening  and closing of the eyelids etc.

Vyana is related with blood circulation and muscle activities – flexion and extension.

Samana Vata

Samana Vata is located near the digestive fire. It moves in the gastro intestinal tract,
It receives the food into stomach, aids in digestion, helps in dividing the food into useful part and waste part, and moves these parts in their normal paths.

Samana Vata’s activities are limited to digestive tract, assisting in normal downward peristalsis.

Apana Vata 

Apana Vata is located in the Apana – large intestine, moves in the waist, bladder, genitals. It attends to the functions such as ejaculation, menstruation, defecation, urination and child birth.

Apana maintains all excretory process related to the lower half of trunk.

Types of Pitta Dosha

Pitta is of 5 types.
Pachaka Pitta
Ranjaka Pitta
Sadhaka Pitta
Alochaka Pitta
Bhrajaka Pitta

Pachaka Pitta

It is located between large intestine and stomach.  (between Amashaya and Pakvashaya)
It is composed of all the five basic elements (Panchamaha Bhuta), it is predominant with fire element and devoid of water element.
It is called by the term Anala- fire because of its function of Paka – digestion and transformation of food materials.
It cooks the food, divides it into essence and waste,
It bestows grace and influence on other types of Pitta.
Hence, among all the types of Pitta, Pachaka pitta is the dominant one.

Ranjaka Pitta

The pitta located in the Amasaya- stomach is known as Ranjaka. It converts the useful part of the digestion into blood. Hence it converts Rasa Dhatu into Rakta Dhatu.

Sadhaka Pitta

The pitta located in the Hrudaya –heart is known as Sadhaka.
It attends to mental functions such as knowledge, intelligence, self- consciousness, etc, thereby helping the purpose – aims of life.

Alochaka Pitta

It is located in the eyes. It helps in vision.

Bhrajaka Pitta

It resides in skin and helps in exhibition of color and complexions.

Types of Kapha

Kapha also is of five types;

Avalambaka Kapha

It is located in the chest. By its innate strength and by the power of essence of food, it does lubrication, nourishing etc functions that are attributed to water element. It also influences the functioning of other types of Kapha.

Kledaka Kapha

Located in the  stomach. It moistens the hard food mass and helps in digestion.

Bodhaka Kapha

It is located in the tongue. It helps in taste perception.

Tarpaka Kapha

It is located in the head. It nourishes sense organs.

Shleshaka Kapha

It is located in the bone joints. It lubricates and strengthens the joint.

My Tridosha ebook – 

Tridosha - basic Principle Of Ayurveda

8 comments on “Types Of Doshas And Their Functions

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Easy Ayurveda Video Classes

Buy Online Video Courses

Buy Easy Ayurveda Books