Get Ayurveda Wisdom By Email
No spam. Pure Ayurveda Knowledge
Brain And Mental Health

Sub Types Of Personality Features Based On Satva, Rajas, Tamas

By Vd.A.Rangaprasad Bhat
The sub types of Shuddha Satva:
The Suddha satva aka SAtvika satva has been grouped into the following 7 categories – based on the mutual and synchronous involvement of the mind and physique, in being a cause for exhibiting the collective traits of personality.

Shuddha Satva types

The Suddha satva aka SAtvika satva has been grouped into the following 7 categories – based on the mutual and synchronous involvement of the mind and physique, in being a cause for exhibiting the collective traits of personality.
3. Shakra
4. Yama
5. varu a
7.gandharva – sattv nuk re a.

Brahma Satva

1.brahma satva traits:-
self controlled
Versatile in the texts of knowledge and science and capable of reproducing the text word by word.
Devoid of objective desire, anger, greed, arrogance(mAna), infatuation, envy, lust, impatience.
Sees divinity in all forms of life and hence treats them in equality.


Rishi Satva

2. Rishi Satva traits:-
interested in religious rites and conducts like – offering to God by means of recitation of the vedic sutras, doing homam, by following celibacy- Brahmacharya

welcomes guests with soothing words.
– capable of controlling and prejudiciuosly using raga, dvesha, moha,lobha,rosham.
genius in executing a detailed discourse over the scriptural vedic texts verses –

Aindra Satva

3.Aindra satva traits: –
born as a rich.
authoritative in speech.
believer in God.
bravely faces any adverse situations.
energetic in activities.
bestowed with aura.
always fresh and active in executing a task.
sagacious judgement or farsighted judgment to any given problems faced.
well balanced and efficacious management of earning money, spending through helping others and enjoyment of the life.

Yama Satva

4. yama satva traits:-

abides by the rules and laws of the society.
follows morality and righteousness in his social activities.
non quarrelsome.
works with zeal.
cognitive and comprehensive.
lucrative money maker.
Devoid of excessive desire, envy, hatred, or infatuation. y mya vidy t (4)|

Varu a Satva

5. varu a satva traits:-
fights for right cause
dislikes dishonest people

Kubera Satva

6. kubera satva traits:
conscious of his self dignity
socially extrovert surrounded by friends and followers
inspite of being a philanthropist and spending enjoying the life, remains richer forever.
enjoys living a comfortable and cosy life.
gets irritated for known reasons-

Gandharva Satva

7. gandharva satva traits:-
vesatile in short story telling from history and epics.
fashionably elegant and sophisticated.
more inclined to sex and eroticism

Thus based on the happy state of mind the shuddha satva is categorized as the above seven types. Due to this trait, the knowledge obtained by the purusha too will be clear and pure. (Charaka Sharira 4/37)

Rajasika Satva types

The sub types of rajasika satva:

Asura Rajasika Satva

a) Asura Rajasikta Satva traits –
stands up and fights for the right cause
violent / aggressive
hysterical or super human strength
deceitful or impostor
savageness or assaulting ferociously
Not compassionate

Rakshasa Rajasika Satva

b) Rakshasa Rajasika Satva –
incessant anger
nefarious / brazen fighter
cruel minded
eats non vegetarian and tasty foods lavishly.
drowsy and tired

Paishacha Rajasika Satva

c) paishacha Rajasika Satva –
ravenous appetite
(fear of bathing, washing, or cleaning)bh ru – cowardice.
affrightens women
bad habits or addiction to food and activities like gambling, sex etc behavioural addictions.

Sarpa Rajasika Satva

d) Sarpa Rajasika Satva –
Sometimes Valiantly brave
sometimes fearful and calm.
passionately hard working
sports a terrorizing look and pose.
awful eating habits and activities

Preta rajasika satva

e) preta rajasika satva’s traits:-
increase appetite / binge eating
highly irritable mood in conduct and practice
meanness / who donot wish to share things with others
extremely greedy
lackadaisical or lethargic

Shakuni rajasika satva

f) Shakuni rajasika satva’s traits:-
constant sexual longing
continuous indulgence in food and recreation
fickle minded
Thus based on the angry state of mind the rajasika satva is categorized as the above six types.

Tamasa Satva types

The sub types of tamasa satva:

Pashu Tamasa Stava

i) Pashu Tamasa satva’s traits
absent minded
disgusting eating habits and activities
sleepy & lethargic

Matsya Tamasa Satva

ii) matsya Tamasa satva’s traits:-
Timid, foolish
Eats food frequently
Unsteady mind
In habit of constant expression of lust and anger
Fond of water, water sports like swimming

Vanaspati Tamasa Satva

iii)vanaspati tamasa satva’s traits:-
Lazy, binge eating, low intellect
Thus based on the angry state of mind the r jasika satva is categorized as the above six types.

By Vd.A.Rangaprasad Bhat
“Padmanilayam”, (Ayurveda & Non Conventional Marma Chikitsa Clinic) 49/46,
Kanagaraya Malaiyappan St,
Raja Annamalaipuram,
Mandavelipakkam, Chennai- 600028.

View Comments

  • That is a very good question.
    Categorization helps to understand the nature of people - their likes and dislikes.
    For Satva types, it is easier to concentrate and enjoy higher spiritual state.
    For Rajas types it is harder
    For Tamas types, it is hardest.

    That does not mean, Satva types are "granted" with spiritual states.
    All have to follow the path of righteousness, do their Dharma, fight off lust, greed, anger and do their bit to follow spirituality, to succeed.
    So, Gandharva Satva trait fellow has all good ones, except for one disadvantage, which he has to overcome to excel.

    Hope I make sense.

This website uses cookies.